March and April 2019

Hello hello everyone.

I hope you all are well and I thank you for your patience as we come to a brand new blog. It’s been busy busy busy for me these days but I haven’t forgotten about you all. Again, I thank you so much for your patience.

To start off the blog, March has been one of those days. I would like to start with International Day of Happiness. What is happiness? That is the million dollar question. Happiness is something we all want out of this life. Without it, you’re not living.

“You will never be happy if you continue to search for what happiness consists of. You will never live if you are looking for the meaning of life.” That’s from Albert Camus.

Another quote I love is this one,

“Happiness is holding someone in your arms and knowing you hold the whole world.” – Orhan Pamuk.

Happiness is something we all strive for day by day, it can be a hobby, an ambition, the love of self or the love of family and friends. It can be many things. A day without happiness is a life wasted. In everything, always be grateful for what you have instead of wishing what others have whether if it’s good days or bad days.

As well as that, we also celebrated International Women’s Day. It is a global day of celebration in recognition of the valuable contribution women made and are still making in society. In everything, I’m thankful for the one woman in my life and that is my Mum. I always appreciate her wisdom and inspiration as a person. As well as that, I’m grateful for her strength. I salute every women for their sacrifice in making a huge difference in their lives of their loved ones and in society at large. Thank you for empowering the next generation. As well as that, there’s two women in the public eye who are inspiring in my eyes. That’s Beyoncé, Michelle Obama and Meghan Markle.

Image result for beyonceRelated imageImage result for meghan markle

Whilst in March, there has been a tragedy in the news of Mike Thalassitis taking his life. If you don’t know him, he first found fame in 2017’s series of Love Island. When I first heard the news, I was so sad and it also made me think about how there are so many people who don’t know the highs and lows of fame and stardom when they enter into reality tv and how the public will perceive them. It’s just so sad to think that someone so young would think that suicide is the answer to their problems. As you can tell, he has so much to give but it wasn’t meant to be. I hope that Mike’s death will make us men talk about our emotions and feelings. It’s so damaging how there are so many men who don’t ever speak up about how they truly feel because of the standards of today’s society compared to past years. In my experience, I know how it feels when you don’t fit in and everyone expects you to be the same. To be honest with you, life will be dull if we were all the same. I hope this is an example to tell everyone that it’s ok to ask for help and remembering that you are not alone. My message to you all is that just talk to someone who you can trust about how you’re feeling. This could be a family member, friend, colleague or a confidant.

Please speak up.

Image result for mike thalassitis love island

 

In April, I went to a family wedding in Wolverhampton. It was a beautiful day. The ceremony took place outside. This was my Uncle’s wedding. This wasn’t the only wedding I attended to this year. It was magical and beautiful at the same time.

 

As well as that, it was also Autism Awareness Week where everyone can understand the meaning and understanding of autism as there are so many who don’t understand or have a lack of awareness about the disability. I have made a video of me and my journey of my highs and lows of autism and also spreading encouragement who are going through the same thing whether you are young or old. The one piece I would give to anyone is that being different is ok. Autism is like having a superpower and we are all talented in our way. Like me with my love of music, singing and writing. Here’s a video for you all to see though I would like to make one little note. I know I’m not alone in this. I’m not one for looking myself when it comes to videos of myself, please tell me I’m not alone in this. I hope that on the video you will be able to learn something from it. I do apologise for closing my eyes in the video as I’m sure you can understand my shyness. At the end of the day, it’s important to be you and not to be anyone else.

 

On a lighter note….

As we have come to the end of the post, the most important thing is by being able to speak up especially about mental health as it affects every single one of us. I knew I had it when I was in school before it was even aware and talked about. What I have learnt is that I have come a long way and I’m still walking to where I need to be. I’m stronger and I’m a fighter. We will all win in this journey called life.

Remember speak up. Never ever bottle things up.

Until the next post….

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.