February and March 2017

Hello everyone.

Welcome to February and March’s post. It’s been a while since January’s post as I’ve been so busy with work so I thought to myself why not put two months in one blog post. The more, the better. February has been a good month, as always I was watching the BRIT Awards. Chris Martin’s duet with the late George Michael made me cry.

When I first heard the news of George’s passing, I was in shock as well as disbelief. My earlier memory of George is when I was watching a music channel and then this song came on and it was called “As” feat. Mary J Blige. I thought to myself I like this song and that George had a gift. Since then, I’ve listened to his work. He was the most versatile artist. To this day, I listen to his duet with Aretha Franklin which was one of my third fav songs of his discography. The song is called “I Knew You Were Waiting for Me”. If you haven’t heard of it, look no further.

He will be sadly missed. I’m not just speaking of myself but I believe I speak for everyone who has ever been a fan of George Michael and that he will be sadly missed.

 

For some good news, Steps are back and Dancing on Ice maybe coming back. Fingers crossed.

I remember watching DOI every Sunday and rooting for my favs over the years. My earliest memories were of me watching Series 2 or 3. As the years went by, the show was a lot of fun. I even pictured myself being a special guest and just performing. Dreams of a young kid, eh.

Let’s talk about Steps coming back. I remember listening to their music while growing up. They were the definition of a band. My fav songs of theirs are Tragedy, Deeper Shade of Blue, Chain Reaction, Stomp, Love’s Got a Hold on My Heart and Say You’ll Be Mine. Fast forward to 2017, they have a new song called “Scared of the Dark” and a new studio album called “Tears on the Dancefloor” which looks like their first album but older and slick.

Image result for step one steps

Where have the past 18 years gone?

Earlier last month, Little Mix performed on the BRITs. I’ll always have praise for those girls. I remember watching their journey on X Factor in 2011. Boy have they come a long way since that time. They kicked off the show in style. Every performance they do, I get so excited. They are living proof that if you work hard, you will achieve so much. Their friendship is real. Also on that night, they won their first ever BRIT Award for British Single. I’m so glad they are getting the recognition they truly deserve.

 

 

Work as always is good. Keeping myself busy and occupied. So far, so good. Whereas for driving, I’ve done my second practical test last week and didn’t pass again but this time I got 15 faults which is highly serious. I’m working on the manoeuvres and putting in the time to make sure that everything goes well next time I do the test. I’m looking at some new dates.

Recently there was a news report about a shooting in Westminster so I thought it would be ok to think and reflect on those who have been injured or lost their lives especially one of the victims being a police officer who was doing their job and then paid the price for it. My thoughts and condolences are with his family and to all the victims’ families. You just never know what the next minute holds. One question I always ask myself is “Why is there so much violence and hate in the world?”. It’s just too much. Even to the point where I can’t watch the news anymore because there’s always bad things happening in the world. You start to question what goes through a person’s mind for them to do actions that will hurt others. That’s not the only way to live a life. I believe in a world that is filled with peace and love, I hope one day we will have that as I truly believe in humanity. One thing to take in is that those who have a roof over their head as they are about to rest for the next day to always consider your blessings because there are those who don’t have what we have so always be thankful and considerate of others. Never take what you have for granted.

As we come to the end of this post, I’ve also seen in the news that on Sesame Street there is a new puppet called Julia and she has autism. As soon as I heard the news, it just made my day. Not only for me but for those who don’t have an understanding of autism. I’m happy that Sesame Street are portraying the condition in a fun way for its young viewers who watch the show.

 

I hope you have enjoyed this double blog post. As always you know what to do, please feel free to share, like and comment.

Until the next time….

I promise I won’t leave you all hanging for the next blog post.

One thought on “February and March 2017

  1. Hi Nick, Have just read your Feb/March blog. Its very informative and love the pics. Your words about WestMinister were heartfelt I could tell and the Joy of Steps and possibly DOI is really great. Kind regards Chris

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.