April, May and June 2023

Hello everyone.

Welcome to a brand new post.

Hope you all liked the previous post. If you have missed it, go down to the end of the page and look for where it says: Previous Post and it’s there for you to click and read.

As always, I appreciate you all so much for your patience when it comes to waiting for a new post. As I discussed on the last post, I have been going through my mental health and also having a lack of motivation more times than most. I’ll make the effort to put time aside to make sure that you give all the best blog I can give as much as there is so much going on in the world right now which is nothing but distractions. It does get to me sometimes. With everything, it’s important to me to always give thanks and to not dwell on things I can’t control. I feel like with writing and journalling, it helps me and creates this haven for me to be able to note how I’m feeling and what happens in my day to day life. In a way, it helps me be better and I feel better for it. I thank my Mum for introducing me to journalling and giving me my first ever journal. Without that, I wouldn’t be writing on here for the past 9 years.

Here is the continuation.

In April, my cousin and her boyfriend came by to visit which was lovely. We went to a restaurant called the Fourteen. If you ever go, you need to. This isn’t the first time I went there. The last time I went there was with my sister and my mum to celebrate Mother’s Day. The restaurant is on top of a hotel. When you get to the 14th floor, you will be amazed by the view. I’m just saying. Sadly it was a short visit as they needed to get back to London the next day to catch the train back to Belgium. I showed them and gave them a tour of Milton Keynes.

On the 10th of May, I went to Cyprus. This was the first time ever going on a plane by myself. It couldn’t have come at a better time because to be honest, we all need a break from time to time. I know for myself I needed the break after the past few years. I was just so thankful to turn up at the airport and going inside a plane, it’s been a long time. Whilst making my way to the arrivals, I had my sunflower lanyard and the Cyprus security staff were very helpful and accepting when it comes to helping me and my brother by making sure our experience was good. They did that. The first person we saw was my mum. She just arrived to the airport at the time. You can say that it was perfect timing. Seeing Cyprus for the first time, it reminded me of being in Ghana with the roads, palm trees and the surroundings. The traffic light system is like the one in the UK. I went to the main city centre which wasn’t far from where I was staying. There is a place called Eleftheria Square where there is shops and restaurants. It even has a downstairs where there are water fountains. The main thing you have to know about Cyprus is that you must always carry cash the entire time.

I walked through some pigeons. There were a lot of them like a lot.

The day after, we went to Larnaca Beach. Which was absolutely amazing. Spent a few hours there enjoying the sun and the surroundings. Whilst I was in the beach, it felt so nice to be able to embrace being sunkissed and being comfortable in the skin I am despite not having the six pack. All I know is that I’m comfortable just being me and being in the moment which is what you are meant to do when it comes to being on holiday. It was very busy. Luckily we had a umbrella and a beach chair to just relax and chill. I went inside the water. I didn’t know at the time that it had salt water so I tried not to swallow it or even open my eyes because it can sting. I just laid back and relaxed. The water was so cold. Other than that, I enjoyed it. Afterwards, we went around and went to a church which was called the Church of Lazarus. For those who don’t know, Lazarus was brought back to life by Jesus 4 days after his passing. It was a quiet atmosphere as there were a lot of people and especially those who were in prayer. My highlight was me lighting up a candle and putting my candle alongside the others which were there. After doing that, I just closed my eyes and went into prayer. That experience made me feel humbled and emotional at the same time. When you are in the house of God, it can humble you and make you think. It’s like the place where you can just shut yourself off from what is going on in the outside world.

2 days after, we went around the city centre of Nicosia. I went for a walk which was lovely. I went to a Greek restaurant where I had their mushroom ricostto and I also drank Kefo beer. Though I’m not one for beer. It was actually nice. Afterwards, I met up with my Uncle and spent some time. Just a few hours, it’s back to the airport to basically come back to reality. The Cyprus security people took me to a special lane which was in front of where most people who were queuing up to have a look at my passport and then go through the security checks. I arrived back and I was taken to another lane which was empty all because of my sunflower lanyard. There was two people who also wanted to come by but they weren’t allowed to so they had to be sent back. I thank the Cyprus and the Luton Airport staff for being considerate and helpful towards those who have a disability wear the sunflower lanyard. I never thought that in my 32 years that me being on a plane by myself would bring so much advantages. Talk about a big milestone. I’m happy I did it. I’m thankful there was no issues or problems the entire time going and coming back.

Coming into June, I went down to London to go and see Harry Styles perform live at Wembley. It was my first time going to a concert there. For those of you who know me, London will always be my home. Proud to be a London boy. Whenever I’m there, it just gives me lots of nostalgia. I just know my way around. On the way to the concert, I went on the Tube and there were people who had feather boas looking fabulous and ready to have a good time. By the time I got to Wembley, there were crowds and crowds of people around. Made it inside and went to my seat and it was at the back where you can just see everything. The atmosphere was good especially when it came to the Mexican wave and singing along to Bohemian Rhapsody in unison. You can never go wrong with a bit of Queen. I guess that’s the best thing about music is that it brings people together. Altogether, the concert was amazing. Harry is incredible performing live. Seeing him just took me back to when I first saw his audition 13 years ago. He has come such a long way and is reigning supreme ever since. I’m just happy I got to see him perform live. It didn’t take me until nearly 1:30am in the morning to get back. Long story short, I got to Euston at 11pm and there was a train. It was fully packed. Had to wait for another 20-30 minutes to get on the next one and I found myself a seat. When it comes to the last train of the day, it takes you to each station until you get to the station you want to get off. It was a long day, took me 2 days to recover. Sometimes it’s nice to have a bit of me time.

 

As we come to the end of the blog, I thought I’d share with you all a little something. I met Percy Pig outside of my work. Here are some pictures. It was worth the wait.

Hope that has made you all smile. I instantly thought what a perfect way to end the post.

Hope you all have liked this post.

Don’t forget to like, share and comment.

Your support, love and appreciation is everything and is something I will never take for granted. Just you all reading and enjoying my posts is what helps me make the best blog.

Sending you all lots of love and positive vibes as we move into July.

Until the next one….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.